A clan business managed by relatives

Alexandoy

VIP Contributor
My first job after finishing a short course in computer programming was in a commercial bank. The chairman was the patriarch, the president was the son, some vice presidents are nephews and nieces. In other words, the bank is operated by a clan. In our culture it is common to see or hear of a family business that is run by the parents and children. But for a clan to handle the business is not really customary here.

From what I know as business guru is against such a setup because it is susceptible to friction among relatives. But the bank was doing good and I had experienced the promotion, the bonuses and even the profit-sharing when I was already a supervisor. However, there was a time that the bank was closed for technical reasons. But I know the real score that the president was using the resources of the bank for his own benefit. After many years the bank reopened and I was called. This time I was a bank officer. The chairman was the grandson of the original chairman. The brother of the chairman is a vice president. No other relative was there. It was better than the previous setup.

Yugocean

Valued Contributor
The best thing in this experience is, you were considered an important official of the bank, that is why they called you back.
For sure, if Bank is run by relatives only, then it will become hard to punish/fire the wrong doer. Such relatives can even blackmail other relatives which is harmful for both clan and business.
But there is something good with your Bank, you can always make your someone from your family can get job there if there is some vacancy.

btaliat

VIP Contributor