General insurance Is insurance a savings or investment?

kayode10

VIP Contributor
I am new to insurance as a whole. As a result I am trying to acquire new knowledge about how insurance works and how I can benefits from what insurance has to offer.

I know that a wide range of insurance like auto insurance business insurance life insurance health insurance home insurance contract insurance etc.

I know someone who enroll for an insurance policy needs to pay premium regularly this can be either quarterly or every month of the year.

For instance if you do auto insurance and unforeseen circumstances happen to your car the insurance company are going to prepare another one for you period and this seems to be a saving for me.

So I want to ask that is insurance a savings or an investment? I'm still confused about it.

btaliat

VIP Contributor
In my opinion, it is more of saving than investment. This is because apart from term life insurance which I even involves returning of money to the insured person at a specific time, insurance also gives compensation to the people that are under insurance policy, meaning they collect the money they have been paying as premium.

Jasmine

VIP Contributor
Insurance is a saving as well as investment. When you save you don't get large profits, saving means the wealth accumulates only when you put your own money. Investment means you will earn higher rewards, you will earn profits on your investment. Based on the policy you have bought, insurance can work like an investment as well as saving.

Mandy96

Valued Contributor
It can be considered as a savings in the sense that the insurer help you save by the process of you paying your premium and compensate you when it’s needed. We can also call it an investment, if we check out the short term life insurance closely, you would realize that it is almost like you investing against the hard days

Good luck

Verified member