Is it by what you studied or what you can do?

Kennysplash

Verified member
We are no more in an era where what is studied is the criteria for employment. It is now what you can do. I have some experience of people that work in places that are not relevant at all to what they studied. So this means it all comes down to how well you are able to learn new things and adapt to changes. I have seen someone that studied language working in bank, and someone that medical science working in a book printing press, although a very big one. So this means that what you studied no longer offers certainty, but what you can do. Many companies offer training before you start working, that is why if you are intelligent you can grab the work process and do it fine. So be knowledgeable about a lot of fields, not just what you are studying.

Jonaville

There is this popular saying in my country: it is not by what you studied, it is by what you can do. That is just the plain truth. Some people can study a course, yet have little or no knowledge on how to apply it in the secular sector. On the other hand, we have those who don't have any academic knowledge of the same course, but if given the job, they can execute to the best fraction.
However, it is best if one can offer skills in the area he/she studied. This can ensure great optimization of what you can offer.