Skills and Apps You Have to Learn in Your New Career

Caramelle

Some people find themselves unhappy at work or at the dead-end of their careers that the only feasible option is to shift careers, jobs, or companies. Shifting to a new career can bring a variety of challenges. In most cases, one will need to adjust to the new environment, work relationships, or a new way of doing things. It could mean adopting new technology or application.

When I shifted from an office job to a teaching job, I had to learn applications that I hardly used in my old Jobs. One of them is Microsoft PowerPoint. As an online instructor, PowerPoint is one of the most useful tools for communicating and presenting concepts. I also had to learn how to use Google Classroom, Jamboard, and Google Forms to make quizzes and activities.

When I started working online as a content writer, I needed to submit my content through a zipped folder which, I found out, was easily accomplished by right-clicking the mouse and finding the option to save the file in a zipped folder. I have learned to use Grammarly to polish my work.

When I shifted work to a technology company, I had to learn how to use Google Maps to check the accuracy of the search engine results for distance-related queries. I also had to learn to use the internet to make calls to the landlines of hospitality organizations all over the world. I learned to use Google Translate to gain a reasonable understanding of foreign language phrases written in clear text or saved as images.

Along the way, there were epic failures and frustrations, but in the end, one doesn’t have much choice but to learn continuously.

What is your career shift story?​