What is a stablecoin and how does it work?

Etini

Valued Contributor
My friend, Michael is an expert in cryptocurrency. I am a complete novice when it comes to crypto and how it works. I passively follow it and I know the trends of when it is going down or coming up. But I stated hearing something from Michael. He said that there is something that is called a "stablecoin".

He went on to explain that with a stable coin, one need not worry about the coin experiencing a sudden dip. I got more confused. He went further to say that any site you work with should pay the workers in a stablecoin.

Please, what is a stablecoin. Does it mean that I truly need not worry if I hold a stable coin? Which and which cryptocurrencies are stablecoins? What is the criteria used to classify them as stablecoins? Does Trendri pay in stablecoins? Please gurus in the house, share your knowledge so I can understand.

Stablecoin is a type of crypto whose value is pegged both to crypto and gold, if not money. so the value is more stable following the changes in the value of the guarantor asset.
How Stablecoins Work
Based on the type, there are three ways stablecoins work, namely
Equated with fiat currency, Equated with other cryptocurrencies and Equated through smart contracts

Stablecoins are a new type of cryptocurrency that aim to provide investors with a more stable value. A stablecoin is a digital currency that has its value pegged to another asset (usually fiat currency like the US dollar) instead of being traded on its own exchange. It’s a way to make cryptocurrency more accessible to everyone, and it’s especially popular among those who want to invest in cryptocurrencies but don’t want to risk their money by trading them on an exchange.