Is the engineer required for the construction of a structure?

Alexandoy

VIP Contributor
With my experience in the construction of my store and the repairs in our house, I would say that an engineer is not exactly needed as long as I know the ways and means of the construction. All I did was to hire a carpenter and mason plus laborers to do the job. I did the supervision and I was proud that I did it right. Don't get me wrong. I have some experience in the construction because I was observing all the works in our ancestral home when I was younger.

A 3-story building is being constructed on the lot beside our property. The work started December of 2019 so it is now 2 years in the making. There was no engineer and the supervisor is just well versed with the construction. The architectural plan was okay and was created by a legit architect. Maybe the supervisor knows the job but he doesn't know the sequencing. There is a tree beside the corner post of the building that remains until now. The worker doing the finishing of the post is having a hard time with the cramped space. I learned that the tree will be removed. There are also problems in the flooring that the ground floor flooring was demolished to give way to the tiles. Oh, such a botched job that would take too long. The lot is only 500 square meters so the building is not really too big. The problem? There is no engineer.

kayode10

VIP Contributor